EHF European Cup 2017/18 - Article - Defending champions in Pot 1 before the group phase draw
27.11.2017, 12:23◄ last page     

DRAW PREVIEW: The remaining 16 teams will be divided to four groups on Thursday during a draw event streamed live on Facebook and youtube.

Defending champions in the top pot before the group phase draw

Following the last weekend's Qualification Round 3 matches in the Men’s EHF Cup all is set for the group phase draw of the sixth edition since its merging with the Cup Winners' Cup. The only question mark to survive the draw is the name of the last participant as the second leg of the third qualification round between FH Hafnarfjordur and Tatran Presov will only be played on Saturday 2 December.

However, the draw will go ahead as planned and will take place at the EHF headquarters in Vienna on Thursday 30 November at 11:00 hrs local time and will be streamed live on ehfTV's youtube channel and EHF's facebook page. In addition the draw will be covered with a live ticker and reports on as well as live tweets on @ehf_live.

According to the regulations the teams from the same country cannot play in the same group. There will be 12 countries represented by their teams in the group phase with Germany leading with three teams followed by France and Spain with two clubs each.

The defending champions Frisch Auf Göppingen are seeded in Pot 1 together with their bundesliga rivals and last season runners-up Füchse Berlin, Chambery Savoie Mont Blanc Handball from France and Belarusian SKA Minsk.

The first round of the group phase is scheduled for 10/11 February and the last round will take place on 31 March/1 April.


Teams from Pot 1 are drawn to Row 1 in Groups A to D
Teams from Pot 2 are drawn to Row 2 in Groups A to D
In Pot 3, SC Magdeburg, Saint-Raphael and Fraikin Granollers are drawn to possible groups in Row 3 avoiding a group with another team from their country.
Teams from Pot 4 are drawn to Row 4 in Groups A to D.

Men's EHF Cup Group Phase draw:

SKA Minsk (BLR)
Chambery Savoie Mont Blanc Handball (FRA)
Frisch Auf Göppingen (GER)
Füchse Berlin (GER)
Bjerringbro-Silkeborg (DEN)
Helvetia Anaitasuna (ESP)
Cocks (FIN)
KS Azoty-Pulawy SA (POL)
RK Nexe (CRO)
Fraikin BM. Granollers (ESP)
Saint-Raphael Var Handball (FRA)
SC Magdeburg (GER)
RD Koper (SLO)
Wacker Thun (SUI)
Lugi HF (SWE)
Winner QR3 TATRAN Presov/FH Hafnarfjordur

TEXT: EHF / br

 Send bookmark to BlinkList  Send bookmark to  Send bookmark to Google  Send bookmark to Digg  Send bookmark to Yahoo  Send bookmark to LinkARENA  Send bookmark to folkd  Send bookmark to SlashDot  Send bookmark to Netscape  Send bookmark to FURL  Send bookmark to StumbleUpon  Send bookmark to  Send bookmark to Mr. Wong  Send bookmark to Webnews