News article

one year ago - 10/15/2018

Defending champions Füchse in Pot 1 for last qualification draw

Following last weekend's matches all teams for the Men's EHF Cup Qualification Round 3 have been confirmed.

While 16 teams, including defending winners Füchse Berlin, have been directly seeded to Pot 1, the remaining teams had to fight their way through Qualification Round 2 and will be seeded in Pot 2.

The draw will take place on Tuesday, 16 October at 11:00 hrs local time at the EHF Office in Vienna.

There will be no country protection in the draw which means teams from the same country can face each other in Qualification Round 3. This rule can potentially apply to two countries - Denmark and France.

Germany has four teams at this stage of the competition and all of them are seeded in Pot 1. Denmark and Spain are represented by three clubs, while France, Hungary, Portugal and Switzerland have two clubs each.

The draw will see an unusual start as first the opponent for HK Malmö has to be determined. The Swedish participant has the hall available only over the first leg dates and therefore has to play the second leg away.

All fans will be able to follow the draw via livestreaming on EHF Facebook Live and on youtube.com/ehfTV.

In addition the draw will be covered with a live ticker and reports on eurohandball.com as well as live tweets on @EHF.

The first leg of Qualification Round 3 takes place on 17/18 November, the second leg will follow one week later. The 16 winners qualify for the group phase, which will commence on 9 February 2019.

Men's EHF Cup 2018/19 Qualification Round 3 seeding:


RK Nexe (CRO)
TTH Holstebro (DEN)
BM Logroño La Rioja (ESP)
Fraikin BM Granollers (ESP)
Liberbank Cuenca (ESP)
St. Raphael var Handball (FRA)
Füchse Berlin (GER)
SC Magdeburg (GER)
THW Kiel (GER)
TSV Hannover-Burgdorf (GER)
Balatonfüredi KSE (HUN)
Grundfos Tatabanya KC (HUN)
HC Eurofarm Rabotnik Bitola (MKD)
KS Azoty-Pulawy SA (POL)
HK Malmö (SWE)


Achilles Bocholt (BEL)
HC Karvina (CZE)
Aalborg Haandbold (DEN)
Olympiacos SFP (GRE)
Selfoss (ISL)
Maccabi Srugo Rishon Lezion (ISR)
OCI-Lions (NED)
Drammen HK (NOR)
Futebol Clube do Porto (POR)
SL Benfica (POR)
HC Dobrogea Sud Constanta (ROU)
Gorenje Velenje (SLO)
Vojvodina (SRB)
BSV Bern (SUI)
Kadetten Schaffahausen (SUI)

Author: EHF / br